A day to remember: before sunset

I tried my best to avoid doing anything special, or out of the ordinary. Because if today was unremarkable, I would forget it forever.

I really wanted to see my younger sister; my mother brought her along with my younger brother to see my grandmother. But it was a two-hour drive, and I could visit her tomorrow just like I could have visited her yesterday.
In any case, I was guaranteed to see her one more time when I drive them back to the airport later.

I woke up, and went to work. Just like I’ve done for the majority of this summer.

I made a mistake. I usually go to the diner at 11:30 or 1:30, when it’s almost empty. I could take my time to choose my lunch and eat it in silence. But since I woke up later than usual, I ate something quickly, and I was hungry at 12:30. It seemed crowded, so I went to the bathroom and stayed for what I thought was 15 min. I didn’t carry my cell phone, I don’t usually carry it, and I didn’t know exactly how long I stayed. But I hoped people had left. It was still crowded when i got out, but I couldn’t go back to work. If I went back I would have wasted two lunch times from my work time. So I took my plate, and left to eat outside and hoped that since it was hot few people would be eating outside. I was wrong again, and it bothered me. But I ate quickly and left. I didn’t finish my plate, and I thought I would go to a nearby city to have dinner later. It was habitual of me to go there a few times a week.

I hoped this small miscalculation wouldn’t ruin the normality of my day.

I was planning to go running after work, take a shower, and then take the necessary 1-hour drive to get good food. I could listen to my usual music on the way, and the whole lunch annoyance would be forgotten by then.

I thought my work was boring, for the most part. Ideally, it should be done by a machine and if that was not possible, it should be done by someone with an admirable amount of patience and indifference. I thought that’s why I was hired, because the others had better things to do, not because they couldn’t do it.

As I neared the end of the work day, I wasn’t really sure if I wanted to be outside. It didn’t seem terrible to stay here doing whatever, and not worrying about the rest of the day. But I felt hungry. I remembered what happened at lunch, and I remembered that it was my birthday. I knew I had to leave to get food.

Leave a Reply

