Three Words (1/3)

He died in a car, but not in a car accident, and he made amends soon before it. Not many people ask more about it.

His younger brother, the cool uncle that played video games with me, quit his job and lives with my grandmother. Every time we visit, he shows up with long ungroomed hair and yellow teeth. It doesn’t take more than 5 minutes of talking with him to know he isn’t completely sane.

Their father, my grandfather, has died a few years ago. I remembered something he said and it frightened me today.

We were three sitting, my grandfather, my father, and I. I was about 14-16 years old. They were talking for a while, then they stopped.

My grandfather stared at me for a moment, then he looked towards my father and said in a low voice: “the kid, his mind is not right.” My father looked at him but said nothing.

I fear that history tells me that there are two possible outcomes. Which of my uncles lives are less pitiful?

Leave a Reply

