The laws of probability

I looked at you, but you only saw me. The way a falling leaf is seen this time of the year.

I thought by now I must have gotten over it, but I was as far from that as I am from winning your favor.

Through you, I imagined our unlived past and our disjointed futures.

You were there, prettier and further from reach than ever. I was there falling all over again, as if I were seeing you for the first time. This time, however, my hopes were tamed and my expectations were cut as soon as they grew.

I had one option that I was forced to choose: to let go.

I wish you all the best, and I regret I could not be a part of it.

 

See you again, when the laws of probability lead me to randomly be wherever you are.

One thought on “The laws of probability

  1. Pingback: A long short story | averynormalblog

Leave a Reply

